Open Always
Email: support@globalcompose.com Call Now! +1-315 515-4588
Open Always
Email: support@globalcompose.com Call Now! +1-315 515-4588

Sample Article Review Paper on The Jeddah Tower

This sample paper on (Sample Article Review Paper on The Jeddah Tower) was uploaded by one our contributors and does not necessarily reflect how our professionals write our papers. If you would like this paper removed from our website, please contact us via our Contact Us Page.

A Database of over Million Scholarly Resources. Start your Search Now

Sample Article Review Paper on The Jeddah Tower

The Jeddah Tower, formerly Kingdom Tower, is a skyscraper under construction in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia anticipated as being the tallest building in Saudi Arabia upon its completion. The tower that sits on 50 hectares is one part of a three-phase development called the Jeddah economic City being developed by the Jeddah Economic Company (JEC), a consortium of three companies and one individual. The tower has faced numerous issues and developments during its construction that are the focus of this paper that also seeks to proffer some actions that the project manager should take next.

The design contract was awarded to Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture, the world-famous firm formed after the merger of two other firms, one which had also designed the Burj Khalifa. Although there were many bidders for constructing the project, the Saudi Binladin Group was chosen to construct the project, partly because it is a 16.66 per cent shareholder in the developer and also because it had a low bid of $1.23 billion, even lower than the $1.5 billion used for the Burj Khalifa. Finland’s KONE Corporation was awarded the contract for constructing and installing the elevators as it is the only company that has the capability to construct elevators with a speed of 10 meters per second with double-decker elevators as specified in the project requirements (Sequeira). Besides, it uses ultralight UltraRope technology believed to increase the sustainability of the project. The Saudi Water Company was also awarded the contract to supply water to the project while an EC Harris/ Mace joint venture team was appointed as project managers.

Construction work on the project began on April 1, 2013, although preliminary work such as geotechnical investigation had begun as early as 2008. The 2013 commencement time was also late since there had been statements in the media claiming that construction would begin as early as August 2011. Work above ground started in September 2014, and as of 7 July 2016, the project had reached its 44th floor with a floor being completed every 5 days. Other work such as the fitting of elevator guiderails has already been done. The project which was expected to be completed in 2017, later pushed to 2018, is now expected to be completed in 2020 due to delays.

Over the course of its construction, the project has experienced delays due to financing issues as well as funding issues with the contractor. The project which started in 2013 was only able to get up to speed after it received an 8.4 billion Saudi Riyal ($2.2 billion) financing deal with Riyadh-based bank Alinma on December 10, 2015 (saudigazette). The project also hit a delay in early 2016 after the contractor faced cash flow issues after the government suspended it from bidding. The government had also suspended payments to numerous contractors as it prepared its National Transformation Plan, and Binladin had to lay off workers (Fahy). Work on the project did not stall, however, but it continued at a slow pace leading to more delays.

The tower which is expected to have over 439 apartments, 200 hotel rooms, and 2205 parking spaces was received with acclaim around the world. The real estate boom in Saudi Arabia driven by a high population growth as well as a housing shortage especially for high-end units has seen apartments in the tower being sold as early as 2015. There is, however, a volatility in the market that causes the Jeddah Economic Company to consider three options; renting some, pooling some for rental, and doing investment funds on a few. The project will also include unique amenities such as the highest observation deck in the world in a bid to make it more attractive in the market. JEC is also keeping quiet about the actual height of the tower as well as the exact room count in order as a marketing tool.

What should be done next?

As earlier stated, over 50 floors have been completed which accounts for more than 20% of the project (Munro). To beat the expected project completion time of 2018, the pace of the project must be faster than the current rate of one floor every 5 days and while accounting for unexpected delays and the fact that work is expected to slow down as higher heights are reached, this seems highly unlikely. JEC thus has an option of hiring another contractor or increasing the capacity of the present one, but this would only lead to higher project costs, thus it is highly likely that JEC will announce a later completion date.

New contracts should also be handed out for building amenities such as windows, fixtures, and fittings as the project nears completion. Intense marketing should also be done to ensure that there are more sales so that by the completion date the occupancy levels will be high. This can be done through various platforms such as social media, digital media including television, and outdoor advertising. The project manager can also sponsor community events such as a desert rally as well as sporting events in a bid to enhance attention. Since the tower has also been deemed a community project, such sponsorships will enhance tolerance for the project that has elicited criticism from some circles including environmentalists. Extra funds should also be set aside to accommodate for emergencies such as the financial crisis with Saudi Binladin Group that led to a four-month delay as JEC secured a bank loan. The project manager should also ensure that the highest standards are maintained throughout construction to assure the project’s sustainability besides aesthetic appeal.

In conclusion, the Jeddah tower is bound to be the tallest building in the world upon its completion. The project which began in 2013 is over 20% complete and has an anticipated completion date of 2020 as a result of delays with financing. Extra funding has since been obtained and construction is expected to progress uninterrupted. As early as 2015, people had already begun purchasing apartments in the tower and the project manager should do more to market the project and ensure full occupancy. Contracts for the remaining works on the tower should also be handed out in due time to ensure there are no delays that may push back the completion time or add to the project costs.

 

 

Works Cited

Fahy, Michael. Jeddah Tower: Future world’s tallest building delayed after contractor problems. 16 May 2016. Web. 20 November 2016.

Munro, Davina. Saudi Arabia’s 1km Jeddah Tower 20% complete. 16 March 2016. Web. 20 November 2016.

saudigazette. Jeddah Economic City Project secures SR 3.6 billion funding. 16 March 2016. Web. 20 November 2016.

Sequeira, Jerusha. Elevator installation begins at Saudi Arabia’s 1km tower. 11 May 2015. Web. 20 November 2016.

Sharing is: CARING

Are you looking for homework writing help? Click on Order Now button below to Submit your assignment details.

Homework Writing Help
We Can Help you with this Assignment right now!
Sample Article Review Paper on The Jeddah Tower

Are you looking for homework writing help on (Sample Article Review Paper on The Jeddah Tower)? Well, you can either use the sample paper provided to write your paper or you could contact us today for an original paper. If you are looking for an assignment to submit, then click on ORDER NOW button or contact us today. Our Professional Writers will be glad to write your paper from scratch.

We ensure that assignment instructions are followed, the paper is written from scratch. If you are not satisfied by our service, you can either request for refund or unlimited revisions for your order at absolutely no extra pay. Once the writer has completed your paper, the editors check your paper for any grammar/formatting/plagiarism mistakes, then the final paper is sent to your email.

Privacy| Confidentiality

Sample Article Review Paper on The Jeddah Tower

We do not share your personal information with any company or person. We have also ensured that the ordering process is secure; you can check the security feature in the browser. For confidentiality purposes, all papers are sent to your personal email. If you have any questions, contact us any time via email, live chat or our phone number.

Our Clients Testimonials

  • I appreciate help on the assignment. It was hard for me but am good to go now

    Impact of pollution on Environment
  • Am happy now having completed the very difficult assignment

    Creative Message Strategies
  • Your writer did a fine job on the revisions. The paper is now ok

    Ethics: Theory and Practice
  • The paper was so involving but am happy it is done. Will reach you with more assignments

    Title: Privatization in or of America
  • I expected perfection in terms of grammar and I am happy. Lecturer is always on our head but was pleased with my paper. Once again, thanks a lot

    Title: Bundaberg Inquiry
  • The paper looks perfect now, thank to the writer

    Health Care Systems
  • You helped me complete several other tasks as you handled paper. wonna thank you

    Critique Paper on Political Change

Related Articles

Sample Article Review Paper on The Jeddah Tower

Get more from us…

Would you like this sample paper to be sent to your email or would you like to receive weekly articles on how to write your assignments? You can simply send us your request on how to write your paper and we will email you a free guide within 24-36 hours. Kindly subscribe below!

Email Address: support@globalcompose.com